Clinical Investigator Awards

Clinical Investigator Awards

Establishment grants for Clinical Investigators have been initiated by the Foundation in order to stimulate and encourage clinical research in Australia. In particular the grants are intended to assist new investigators to establish their research programs at the time of the difficult transition from doctoral and post-doctoral training posts to their first definitive clinical positions in an academic environment. Clinical Investigators will be awarded a once only grant of $85,000.


Eligible applicants will be medical graduates or graduates of other clinical disciplines who have completed both their clinical and research training which will normally be at doctoral level and are commencing their first definitive clinical position, or have been in such a post for no more than 24 months on 1 May of the year of application.


Applicants should be actively engaged in clinical work and pursuing health and medical research in a university clinical department, a teaching hospital, a clinical research unit of a research institute or in an academic general practice setting.The applications will be judged predominantly on the quality of the applicant’s track record and career achievements to date. The quality of a brief research proposal will also be taken into account.

Current recipients of the Clinical Investigator Award

Dr Daniel Worthley

The University of Adelaide
Dr Golo Ahlenstiel
Western Sydney Local Health District
Dr Shankar Siva
Peter MacCallum Cancer Institute
Dr Peter van Wijngaarden
Centre for Eye Research Australia
Dr Lisa Hui
Mercy Hospital for Women

Past recipients of the Clinical Investigator Award can be found in the Alumni section.